Elective placements for overseas medical students

Applications from overseas medical students who are interested in an elective attachment at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital are welcomed and accommodated wherever possible.

Hawke's Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital is a teaching hospital for medical students of University of Otago who are studying at the Wellington Clinical School and places an emphasis on providing elective opportunities to national students, therefore there are only a limited number of international elective placements available each year.  Placements are usually from 2-6 weeks duration (with the exception of Intensive Care who require a minimum of 4 weeks and accept Final Year students only)

  • We are at capacity for elective student placements in 2017.

  • The Emergency and Medicine departments are at capacity until further notice.

  • Urology elective placements for 2017 have been filled and applications are now closed. We will start accepting applications for the 2018 intake 31 October 2017.

International students will need:

  • to plan your application well in advance to have the chance of taking an elective at Hawke's Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial  Hospital.  Placements are usually from 2-6 weeks duration.
  • to attach your CV and the preferred dates with your application medical indemnity insurance for the duration of your time at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital. The Medical Protection Society can provide this for you at no cost. When you submit your request, we can forward you an application form.
  • If you are interested in applying for an elective placement please contact the relevant person for your area of interest.

Elective Placements at Hawke's Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital:

Specialty

Specialist/
Consultant

Administrator Contact

Medicine Richard Luke

Tracy Le Monnier
tracy.lemonnier@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 6625

General Surgery  Grant Broadhurst Dale Littley
dale.littley@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 6281 
Orthopaedics  Alistair Dray  Meryn Hinton
meryn.hinton@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 6925 
Emergency Department  Scott Boyes  Shirley Barlow
shirley.barlow@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 2797  
Paediatrics  Kai Steinmann  Elizabeth Todd
elizabeth.todd@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 6711  

Obstetrics & Gynaecology 

Jeremy Meates  Fiona Bussell
fiona.bussell@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 6052  
Anaesthetics  Murray Harty  Cara Baillie
cara.baillie@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 4514  
Intensive Care  Louise Trent  Liz Thomas
liz.thomas@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 2751  
Urology  Dave Mason  Rhonda Jackson
rhonda.jackson@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: ++64 6 878 8109 ext 6941