Elective placements for overseas medical students

Applications from overseas medical students who are interested in an elective attachment at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital are welcomed and accommodated wherever possible.

Hawke's Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital is a teaching hospital for medical students of University of Otago who are studying at the Wellington Clinical School and places an emphasis on providing elective opportunities to national students, therefore there are only a limited number of international elective placements available each year. 

Application should be made well in advance to have the chance of taking an elective at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital.  Placements are usually from 2-6 weeks duration (with the exception of Intensive Care who require a minimum of 4 weeks).

The following departments are unavailable for elective student placements:

  • Emergency Department
  • Cardiology
  • Respiratory
  • Neurology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Endocrinology – currently unavailable due to staffing capacity

International students seeking placement should in the first instance:

  • check with your university regarding medical indemnity insurance for the duration of your time at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital.  To see if you are eligible for MPS Indemnity Insurance, check the MPS website https://www.medicalprotection.org 
  • provide a current CV and preferred dates of placement
  • provide a letter from your Dean of Studies confirming you are a bona fide medical student of good standing
  • provide evidence of a Police Clearance from your country of residence and/or study
  • provide a copy of your Passport Photo

If you are interested in applying for an elective placement please contact the relevant administrator for your area of interest.

Specialty

Administrator

Gastroenterology
5th or final year only

Glennis Middleton
glennis.middleton@hbdhb.govt.nz
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6651

Nephrology / Renal
5th or final year only

Denise Evans
denise.evans@hbdhb.govt.nz
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 2421

ENT
5th or final year only

Wanda Leswick
wanda.leswick@hbdhb.govt.nz
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6647

General Surgery 
5th or final year only
Dale Littley
dale.littley@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6281 
Orthopaedics 
5th or final year only
Meryn Hinton
meryn.hinton@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6925 
Paediatrics 
4th, 5th or final year applications
accepted August - November
Elizabeth Todd
elizabeth.todd@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6711  

Obstetrics & Gynaecology 
5th or final year only

Fiona Bussell
fiona.bussell@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6052  
Anaesthetics 
5th or final year only
Cara Baillie
cara.baillie@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 4514  
Intensive Care 
Final year only
Liz Thomas
liz.thomas@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 2751  
Urology 
5th or final year only
Rhonda Jackson
rhonda.jackson@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6941