Hawke's Bay Clinical Council

The Hawke's Bay Clinical Council, was the first of its kind in New Zealand when set up in 2010 and is designed to provide clinical advice to Hawke's Bay DHB’s board so it can better align its clinical services with the needs of the community and provide oversight to clinical quality and patient safety.

The council has members from general practice, allied health, nursing, midwifery, hospital clinical directors and public health.  Chief medical officer, Dr John Gommans and Acting ED of Health Improvement and Equity co-chair the monthly meetings held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month (except January).  HB Clinical Council report  directly to the CEO of the HBDHB and provide monthly reports to the HBDHB Board which are are focused on the health sector in Hawke's Bay.  Meetings are open to the public unless otherwise stipulated on the agenda.

Hawke's Bay Clinical Council members are:

Dr John Gommans  (Co-Chair),  Julie Arthur (Co-Chair), Chris McKenna, Dr Mark Peterson, David Warrington, Dr Nick Jones, Dr Andy Phillips, Dr David Rodgers, Debs Higgins, Anne McLeod, Dr Robin Whyman, Dr Russell Wills, Lee-Ora Lusis, Dr Peter Culham and Daniel Bernal

Council are supported by: Kate Coley, Executive Director People & Quality; Tracy Fricker Council Administrator; Ken Foote and Jacqui Sanders-Jones, Company Secretary's Office

All meetings are held at Te Waiora Room, Hawke's Bay District Health Board Corporate Office, 2nd floor, Cnr Omahu Road and McLeod Street, Hastings unless otherwise notified. Meetings are open and members of the public are very welcome to attend.

Clinical Council Meeting dates for 2019

Agendas and Papers

Clinical Council Meetings 2019
Clinical Council Meetings 2018
Clinical Council Meetings 2017
Clinical Council Meetings 2016